What is Welding Anyway?

This is the first article of many that will be submitted in an attempt to bring the most comprehensive tutorial guide for welding.

I will be covering everything you will need to know about welding. From stick rod to tig and all that could be squeezed in between.

I hope what I have learned over the past 100 years can be a blessing and help to you in some way. No Iam not really a hundred!!

Welding has made up the greater part of my life. I absolutely know how to weld. If I tell you something in these lessons and articles, it will be to your benefit to pay attention to it.

If you are a novice or beginner welder I have just what you are looking for. If you have been around the block a few times, I have something for you too. I can feed you what you need. Wait till you see the welding videos.Wow!!

The first thing I would like to go over with you is basic terms of welding you will here in our lessons. Please understand that I am giving you a definition of welding that will make sense to you. They might not be the dictionary definition. Dictionary is not always practical for our purposes. You will understand later.

What is welding anyway?  Well simply put, it is the art of fusing metals together. A carptenter uses nails and glue. A banker uses your money and his drawer. A welder uses different rods or filler metals and intense electric current known as heat to melt metal together.

Arc: the actual contact and electricity produced when welding. It is the light that will burn your unprotected eyeballs. Don’t watch the arc unless you are behind the welders lens. Get it? the welders lens.

Many would never know this, but the arc is about 7400 degrees Fahrenheit where the metal is at liquid form.

Stinger: also known as the electrode holder. The handle that holds stick rods or electrodes. Sometimes you may find the stinger in the bee or in your body if it’s too late.

Sleeves: leather coverings like the sleeves off a shirt that protect against the sparks and spatter of welding. I like a full leather jacket. It can be hot but it is the most effective. There are green sleeves that have elastic in both ends that can be bought at the weld supply store. One for each arm from the shoulder to the wrist.

Hand Shoes:  also known as gloves. Don’t be an idiot and weld without protecting every part of your body. You would be suprised at what I have seen over the years. Lots of brain damage out there.  Once I watched an old tanky welder weld without even a long sleve shirt. I mean that guys arms were taking the sparks off that fast freeze rod. I know it had to burn. He has the same flesh I have. Tanky welders are a breed of themselves. That is another story. Anyway, I said man, why don’t you put a shirt on and protect your arms. This was his response: Oh no, the sweat on my arms is keeping me from feeling the sparks. Wow! The sad thing is that he actually believed it.

Amps: the current output used to measure how hot or cold your arc is (not to be confused with volts).

Electrodes: Flux coated rods that are used in the stick rod process.

Leads: The rubber coated wiring(copper) that carries the current from your machine to your puddle.

The Puddle: Where you used to play as a child, but now where you make a living with welding. The puddle is the liquefied medal at the end of your arc.

Enough terms for now. Welding actually has an extensive history dating back to the late 1800s. Of course welding principles today are the same but the methods are much different as well as the various types of procedures. Old time welding was brazing metals under the heat from an oxygen/acetylene torch. I personally like tig welding. It is the cleanest form of welding. No fire coming at you (sparks, that is). It is the elite apex of the welding field.  Our next article will focus on Stick Rod welding, probably the most common type of welding there is. Until next time, keep your safety glasses on and watch your eyes.
As Featured On Ezine Articles

Thanks from the author.  Find out more and get free information at http://www.thewelderslens.com

About thewelderslens

I have been welding for over a quarter of a century(25 years). I am 43 years old and have a successful business, a beautiful family. I pastor a church as well. My hope in all this is to bring what I have learned to the forefront so others can get a huge head start. I have lived through it for you. Be thankful. Later. View all posts by thewelderslens

3 responses to “What is Welding Anyway?

  • Brian

    Michael,

    When stick rod welding, how do you know at what angle to hold your rod? Is there a general rule for horizontal, vertical, and overhead?

    Thanks

  • JW

    usually 0-15 degree work angle is recommended. Not a good idea to go much beyond that.

  • Chevy

    Hi Mike, you was wondering where I am wanting to go with my welding. Well I wanna join the Boilermakers,most of my welding has been mig.I have worked with tubing(race cars)structural on dump trucks,train cars and general welding in my shop. I currently enrolled in a college course taking advanced welding. We are studying blueprints, arc,mig,tig,and gas welding and I have passed the blueprints, arc welding classes and bend test on 3/8 plate open root 1g,2g,and 3g positions.

Leave a comment